Ben Folds

ben-folds
Back in the late 2000’s there was a show called “the Sing-Off”. Remember it? It was an American Idol-esque competition featuring only a-cappella groups. I barely remember it myself. I recall Ben Folds – one of the judges. Aside from the music (the show gave birth to the Pentatonix), I think he was one of the big draws of the show – at least for me. I’d never heard such insightful commentary from a judge – of any show of this genre. His feedback was smart – rooted in a deep technical understanding of the music. In a category of television where the commentary was consistently bombastic or vacuous, Folds dissected acts into down-beats, transitions, arrangements, range, percussion tracks etc. It was refreshing intelligence in a sea of mindless and uninspiring noise. Unfortunately, I think he was too smart for tv, and alas, the show bottomed out after I think only 5 seasons? 
He’s brilliant. And so is his music. I first heard him whilst part of the “Ben Fold’s Five”. Some of the classics, Brick, Army, Kate and One Angry Dwarf and 200 Solemn Faces.
Here he is on NPR Music’s “Tiny Desk Concert” (2016) – in hilarious form. Love the live format.
https://youtu.be/VNMms_zGbnI

Leave a comment